A Box to Save Me

It’s so hilarious. I can’t believe I never saw it before.

One of my favorite quotes has always been this; that a church is a box that you put god inside of so that he can’t get at you when you are anywhere else.

I always put this quote to mean how silly it was to put god or the mystery away from your everyday life, but I realize now that I wish so much that I did have a box where I could put the spirit so that it couldn’t get to me and show me things that burn my eyes out from the inside. I wish I could put it inside a practice or a set of rituals that would save me from the burning pain. I would do those rituals everyday and they would be done, and my bones wouldn’t stretch and snap. My flesh would not move like the tide in a see of ghosts.

Leave a Reply

