Who I Tend To Work With

For my purposes in this post, the human species can be largely divided into three groups.

The first group is the largest. These are people that, usually through an unconscious process, have decided that what I do is not going to be part of their life experience. My work is simply not a part of their reality system and they will go through surprisingly large amounts of hardship before ever even allowing me to try helping them. Some of my closest friends fall into this group.

The second group is the second largest. These people desire the idea of what I do, but want it for the wrong reasons. They are usually young, excited, seeking adventure and knew experiences. Simply put, they want fun, in comforting pleasure or the excitement of self destruction. They have never endured the physical hardship or spiritual transformation that compels a person to reach with clarity beyond who and what they have accepted themselves to be.

The third group is the smallest. These are people who are, very simply put, ready to change. Some of them are haggard, some of them are successful by the standards of modern society. All of them have struggled, with life and with themselves for so long that they have finally come to a point of stillness where they are ready to release what is causing them pain. They are not seeking a fun experience, nor are they trying to limit what truth may touch their lives. They are just ready for the pain to stop, and will be lucid to whatever reality is waiting for them.

These three groups are useful fictions, but the story they tell wanders in the right direction. I have worked with all of them, but I have always been most successful with the last, and they are the ones I am really here to help.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Who I Tend To Work With”

  1. Mike Clelland Says:

    A few questions, all about the third group.

    Do you see any patterns? Are these creative types? (artists, musicians, writers)

    And any history of depression? (this often goes hand in hand with the artist types)

    Just curious.
    Mike C!

  2. wildrote Says:

    Hi Mike,

    One problem in answering your question is that I see a lot of patterns. For example, I work with a disproportionate number of women in their thirties to forties. My personal opinion is that the gender bias has to do with Western culture and the demographic that alternative spirituality is marketed toward, more than any significant internal qualities.

    I am personally aware that artistic and creative people are more likely to experience non-physical states of being, as well as those who are prone to any atypical psychological state, including depression. That being said, I meant something very different in this particular post.

    I have not noticed any significant creative bent to the third group. As I said, the intrinsic qualities are that they suffered greatly and/or underwent very deep spiritual development, to the point of deeply releasing their pain. Beyond that, they tend to be older (30s and up) and tend to be female just because women have an easier time asking for help and seeking health care in our culture.

    I hope that answers your question to some extent.

    Note: I’m still making minor edits to the post, so if it is different than the last time you read it you are not imagining things.

Leave a Reply

