“Repeating the Past” With Peter Watts

I never cease to savour the irony in my enjoyment of Peter Watts and his writing. His novels and short stories are some of the most unforgiving lenses through which I have ever viewed the human condition, as well as some of the best hard science fiction that I have ever read, yet, in the right light (or the wrong light, depending on one’s point of view) they eloquently make certain metaphysical points that elude normal explanation.

An example of this is Watts’ very short story (a single page), Repeating the Past. The metaphysical question is why one might choose to enter the process of reincarnation and karma. The answer, because we never really learn anything that we didn’t live, or that didn’t become part of us. Go have a read. It will only take a minute.

PS Peter Watts was recently convicted in what seems to me to be a miscarriage of justice, if not the law in question. I didn’t post about it at the time because I really couldn’t deal with all the bad stuff I was reading about in the world. If you would like more information about his conviction, the trial and events leading up to it I encourage you to go Watts’ blog or view his new interview at Blogginghead.tv.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

