The Process of Release

I open my mouth and my breath begins to wrack as if I have been sobbing. Soon this eases and a tone emerges from the depths of my throat. It is the essence of the sound that a crying person releases just before they are rendered incapable of making any sound at all. The tone touches something in my stomach and it feels as if this object of pain is being lifted out of me. As it rises out of me a weight lifts and my eyes moisten. The tone ebbs. I have thought of nothing and I am not sad, yet I feel as if I have been crying for a long time. I am left to recover.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

