When I Was Young

I felt things clinging to my skin. Some of them were even inside me. I looked, but I never saw anything, just felt them clinging and moving.

Eventually I found that, if I moved my hands in this special way over my skin, I could peel them off and pull them out. They were dark and slimy, like giant shadowy slugs, but still I never saw them with my eyes. No one else ever saw them either, and no one noticed, or asked why I moved my hands in this special way. Why it looked like I was peeling layers off my body.

Eventually, when I was a little older, I told myself that the clinging things weren’t real and that they would just get worse if I payed attention to them. I learned to ignore them.

You can learn to ignore almost anything. I suggest you don’t.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

